Bankruptcy at Whitehorse, Y.T.: to be Official Receiver for the Bankruptcy District of the Yukon Territory, vice Robert John Friend. 1961. Jan. 16, D. M. Johnson, former Canadian Ambassador to the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, on loan to the United Nations Organization: to be resident representative of the Technical Assistance Board. Nigeria. Mar. 21, Alexander Jardine Reeve, Executive Assistant to the Commissioner of the Yukon Territory: to be an Administrator to execute the office and functions of the Commissioner during the Commissioner's absence due to illness which commenced on Mar. 15, 1961. Mar. 28, Hon. Calvert Charlton Miller, Chief Justice of Manitoba: to be during pleasure the administrator of the government of the Province of Manitoba whenever the Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Manitoba is unable to execute his functions by reason of absence, illness or other inability. Hon. Sidney Bruce Smith, Chief Justice of Alberta, to be during pleasure the administrator of the government of the Province of Alberta whenever the Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Alberta is unable to execute his functions by reason of absence, illness or other inability. Hon. André Taschereau, a Puisne Judge of the Court of Queen's Bench in and for the Province of Quebec: to be during pleasure the administrator of the government of the Province of Quebec whenever the Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Quebec is unable to execute his functions by reason of absence, illness or other inability. Thomas Howard Wyndham Harding, Registrar of the Supreme Court, Registrar of the County Court and Registrar of Bankruptcy, Prince Rupert, B.C.: to be Official Receiver for Bankruptcy Division No. 1, of the District of British Columbia, vice William David Sutherland, resigned. R. J. Berry, National Research Council; A. W. Tickner, National Research Council; and G. H. Faye, Department of Mines and Technical Surveys: to be Assay Commissioners to meet in the year 1961 to examine and test coins of the currency of Canada struck at the Royal Canadian Mint during the year 1960. June 15, Linden M. Smith, Prothonotary of the Supreme Court, Halifax, N.S.: to be Official Receiver for Bankruptcy Division No. 1 of the Province of Nova Scotia, vice Charles Lamb, deceased. June 20, Chief Justice Emmett M. Hall, Regina, Sask.; Miss Alice Girard, R.N., Montreal, Que.: David M. Baltzan, Saskatoon, Sask.; O. J. Firestone, Ottawa, Ont.: M. Wallace McCutcheon, Toronto, Ont.: C. L. Strachan, London, Ont.; and Arthur F. Van Wart, Fredericton, N.B.: to be Commissioners under Part I of the Inquiries Act to inquire into and report upon the existing facilities and the future need for health services for the people of Canada, Chief Justice Hall to be Chairman. July 8, Her Royal Highness the Princess Royal, C.I., G.C.V.O., G.B.E., R.P.C., T.D., C.D.: to be Colonel-in-Chief of The Royal Regiment of Canada. July 15. Hon. Robert Taschereau, Hon. Charles Holland Locke, Hon. J. R. Cartwright, Hon. Gérald Fauteux, Hon. Douglas Charles Abbott, Hon. Ronald Martland, Hon. Wilfred Judson, Hon. Roland Almon Ritchie, Mr. Esmond Unwin Butler and Mr. Edmond Joly de Lotbinière: to be Deputy Administrators. July 26, Col. Adolphe George Cherrier, O.B.E., C.D.: to be Deputy Administrator of the Government of Canada, effective Aug. 1, 1961. July 31, Frank Boyd Fingland, Whitehorse, Y.T.: to be Deputy Registrar of Titles for the Yukon Land Registration District.

Government Appointments to Miscellaneous Boards, Commissions, etc.

Army Benevolent Fund Board.—1960. Dec. 14, Brigadier I. S. Johnston, C.B.E., D.S.O., E.D., Q.C.: to be a member.

Bank of Canada.—1961. Feb. 23, John T. Bryden, Toronto, Ont.; J. H. Mowbray Jones, Liverpool, N.S.; Brigadier Lorraine Patrick, Calgary, Alta.; and C. Bruce Hill, St. Catharines, Ont.: to be Directors for a term of three years commencing Mar. 1, 1961. July 24, Louis Rasminsky: to be Governor for a term of seven years, vice James E. Coyne, resigned.

Board of Broadcast Governors.—1960. Dec. 21, Carlyle Allison, a full-time member: to be Vice-Chairman, effective Jan. 1, 1961. Bernard Goulet, Montreal, Que.: to be a full-time member, effective Jan. 1, 1961. 1961. Apr. 28, John B. Lewis, Montreal, Que.: to be a part-time member for a period of five years, vice Mrs. R. G. Gilbride, resigned.